Nationally recognized physical therapist named UB’s new chair of rehabilitation science

BUFFALO, N.Y. — The University at Buffalo’s School
of Public Health and Health Professions has a new chair in the
Department of Rehabilitation Science.

Sue Ann Sisto, a recognized leader in her field who was selected
following an extensive national search, will join UB on Jan.

Sisto comes to UB from Stony Brook University, where she has
served as professor of physical therapy since 2007. She also served
as chair of the PhD program in health and rehabilitation science,
for which she was director of the rehabilitation and movement
sciences concentration.

In addition, she developed and directed the Rehabilitation
Research and Movement Performance (RRAMP) Laboratory in Stony
Brook’s School of Health Technology and Management since

“I am thrilled to join such a talented team of faculty
with a rich history of scholarly and educational excellence,”
Sisto said. “I am particularly excited to work with the
physical and occupational therapy programs, the rehabilitation
science PhD program, their faculty and the students they serve. I
am honored to work with the dean and her leadership team and hope
to contribute to her vision of the School of Public Health and
Health Professions.”

Sisto received her bachelor’s degree in physical therapy
from St. Louis University, as well as both a master’s degree
and PhD from New York University.

She has been a physical therapist for more than 35 years,
specializing in pathokinesiology, the study of human movement as it
relates to any abnormal condition affecting movement. Most
recently, she has focused on recovery of walking and health
outcomes after spinal cord injury.

Sisto’s work has focused on the evaluation of movement
using 3-D movement analysis technology, electromyography, kinetic
analysis and metabolic exercise capacity.

In 2012, she became the first physical therapist to be named a
fellow of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM),
which recognizes individuals who make significant contributions to
the field of medical rehabilitation, and she served as president of
ACRM from 2013-15.

“I am excited to be able to recruit someone with Dr.
Sisto’s leadership experience and academic accomplishments,
which is a testament to the quality and potential of the
department, school and university at large,” said Jean
Wactawski-Wende, dean of UB’s School of Public Health and
Health Professions.

Wactawski-Wende thanked Susan Bennett, who has served as interim
chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Science since September
2016 and also served on the search committee.

“Dr. Bennett has done a tremendous job leading the
department this past year, during two accreditation periods for
both our physical therapy and occupational therapy programs. And
this could not have been done without the dedication of all faculty
and staff,” Wactawski-Wende added.

Search committee members from UB included David Hostler, chair
of exercise and nutrition sciences; Ann Bisantz, professor and
chair of industrial and systems engineering; Nadine Fisher,
clinical associate professor of rehabilitation science; Patricia
Ohtake, associate professor of rehabilitation science; Kirkwood
Personius, clinical associate professor of rehabilitation

Also: Kimberley Persons, clinical associate professor of
rehabilitation science; Jennifer Temple, associate professor of
exercise and nutrition sciences; student representative Laura
Terreri; Janice Tona, clinical associate professor of
rehabilitation science; and Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, professor of
neurology in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
at UB.